Khaki Green Gills  
Khaki Green Gills is Ian West from Dumfries and Galloway in Scotland.

"A lot of tracks such as 'Scary Highways' and 'Tunnel Vision' are intended to have a strong parody aspect to them... Pastiches of modern Soundcloud home producers (whilst retaining some sincere intent). To give an example: 'Cloud Surfin'' takes the form of tunes about flight.

My sound and visual identity is intentionally quite cartoonish and crude in places. It's a style I found to be quite effective to use; creating freshness and trying to strip away decades of refinement and soul crushing modernity. Not to escape to a simpler time, i.e. Synthwave. Rather to reconnect with what has been lost in order to move forward.

Most of the tracks also have a strong Shamanic flavour and hidden meaning not mentioned here. Also are intended to be humourous even when they may seem serious. In tracks like 'Forest' and 'Tunnel Vision' it's the kind of Kraftwerkian humour of acting really serious about silly/obvious things.

The EP 'Very Strange' is going in a more abstract, Dadaesque direction.

With my latest album 'The Horrors' I'm bringing back the more conceptual side of my music, but staying with the somewhat Dadaesque sound...

My most recent music is designed to provide an alternative to the increasing austere direction electronica (in particular Minimal and IDM) is going in nowadays, and to put something out there that is refreshing to a modern listener:

  • For the music to be childlike in imagination.
  • To use almost exlusively crude colours and naive kitsch.
  • For the most part surreal early horror - The more primitive the creepier, funnier and the more the imagination is sparked with surreality.
  • Madcap."

Releases by Khaki Green Gills on Zenapolæ

Release date: 12.05.2020

electronic beats & atmospheres

1. Na und
2. Forest
3. Bennett's Gorgon
4. Flowers for Lothlorien
5. Tunnel Vision
6. Descent (Malevolent Machines 2)
7. Escavadora
8. You Never Listen
9. Spreader
10. Space Hub
11. Scary Highways
12. Something About The Beat, Parts 1 & 2

Full Downloads (complete album with artwork)

Copyright (c) 2020 by Khaki Green Gills
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

Release date: 01.11.2018

squiggly lines in a straight book, left sounds in a right universe

1. The Doppelgänger
2. Los Angeles 2090
3. Qur
4. Hungry Morlocks
5. My Lai
6. Archeoastronomy
7. Spookshow
8. Night Parade of 100 Demons
9. Fried Fox
10. Western Wind
11. Time

Full Downloads (complete album with artwork)

Copyright (c) 2018 by KGG
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License


We may direct your attention to one of our past releases:

zen082 · Winterbound: Creature

Back-Catalog Re-release.

Zenapolæ is pleased to present artists from

Check it out


Instead, if you would prefer to be informed by e-mail each time a new release is out

Yes, please